A New Beginning : 2012

Well this is the first post for 2012 I believe, let’s begin with several updates that I delayed for some time.

Sherry 1.3.2 Updates 

I believe that all of the current Sherry drivers users much ask when is the 1.3.2 update is going to be release. Well for starters, in this release, Embedded version of the 945 family (GME and GSE) will be prioritize first in the development phase, which means that both of the chipsets will be develop as rapid as my 2 arms can be. The reason is quite simple, while other are already enjoying 1.3.1 (945 and 965), the Embedded version of the 945 are still using 1.1E for performance, that said, it is only fair that the 1.3.2 release will prioritize Embedded versions first.

Also as part of the development plan, 1.3.2 will be Windows 8 ready (when it comes), and this is what makes the update much more time consuming, again 1.3.2 update is still under 1.3.x project name,  so don’t expect for major update all the way. The updates will included several performance tweaks and stabilization codes to make the driver as stable as possible for Windows 7 and Windows 8 later on, while maintaining speed as it should. Again do not expect massive boost for this update, this is not a 1.4.x project yet.

New Logo Rebranding and Blog Design

As you all can see here and in the official Facebook fan page, the overall design has several changes. One of them are logo rebranding, which will be also use as default icon for the next driver release. This is for overall user friendly theme as well as provide the Sherry project a little bit of unique identity for itself. I have been working on it since 2009, and for almost 2 1/2 years later, I think it’s time for a new face for it.

“S” in the logo represent Sherry and as we all know it, Sherry project have been introduced for almost a year. That very same logo will be used as default icon for next release. The blog design are still from WordPress free collection, and I have to give this credit to Automattic for this creative blog design, this will provide a fresh feel for this blog , less clutter for easy reading and again that unique identity to it.

Any Plans?

Several plans that I would like to achieve in one or two months timeline is to collect enough donations for acquiring custom domain name for this blog.  Further details will be provide later on. Any donations are welcome for this effort as again it will complete the identity of this project.

I also plan of expanding the Sherry project to multiple devices, slowly that is, as I can’t handle multiple demands at once. Currently Sherry drivers supports up to 10 drivers for both 32bit and 64bit, and each of those drivers consume me for almost 2 months of my time to develop (based on 1.3.x project last year). I can however port the project to multiple devices such as Intel HD and 4 series, but please don’t expect to high of me as I am human with needs and responsibilities too.

I am also collecting funds for several devices to tests and develop on, currently I only have a 945GM laptop to test my drivers on, and yes that’s what make the drivers for 945 release so fast and without much bug in it.

So for those who can, please donate to at least allow this blog to have it’s very own domain name to keep it active as long as it should. I also welcome monthly donors (for fund raising and device funds) and / or yearly donors for domain name renewal. Please contact me for details. Note that the fundings will also be use on maintaining forum.9xxssf.info under DanielPK supervision.

I am also looking for someone who is good in art/photoshop to design a new banner for the blog, submit your artwork for evaluation with links to twitter or facebook, or email me at ayieakim@gmail.com. Do note that the banner must be appropriate with the theme here in this blog, and doesn’t have much contrast with the background. To be honest I have to expense to give for your artwork, but you’ll have my gratitude 🙂

Well, that’s all for now, see you on the next post, have fun and take care 😀

22 thoughts on “A New Beginning : 2012

  1. FrozenLord says:

    It’s great to hear that your still on track.
    Could you please (finally 😉 ) release the WIP x64 version?
    I am currently forced to use the very old Sigma driver, because I can’t find any 965 release supporting x64 (Windows 7) …
    It would be great to run a WIP version instead of that really old version.

    Feel free to contact me via eMail (I think you still have my mail?)

    Best regards and keep up the great work 😉
    FrozenLord

  2. psyalemao says:

    Yeah the 64bit OS’es need some love from your project 🙂

  3. André Fernandes says:

    PLease sherry 1.3 intel gma 3150 for windows xp

  4. Dan says:

    I also look forward to x64 : )

  5. Thomas says:

    Hey I would like to thank you for the hard work you’ve put into these drivers and its great news to hear that your back and ready to improve on what intel couldn’t.

    Im running Sherry 1.3 on my old gma 945 laptop and my newer gma 3150 netbook that I use just about everyday for work and mobile gaming. While I can’t go into detail of the laptop since I don’t use it often I can say sherry is very stable on my netbook. Not once has my pc crashed, froze or gave a fuss about its modded video drivers. Aero performance is much more enjoyable on sherry and WEI graphics went from a 2.7 i believe to a 3.1. Most games received a good 10-25% performance increase with older games (games made around 2000) getting the biggest frame rate increase. Last but not least 720p youtube is watchable on this wimpy 1.6ghz atom with sherry 1.3. On stock intel drivers it was a choppy 15fps average but on sherry 1.3 its a fluid 30fps for the most part. CPU usage is still near 100% and it does shutter occasionally but I believe the shuttering is caused by background processes and you can’t help that. 😛 1080p is of course still out of the question lol

    Keep up the good work!

    • MarsAviator says:

      @Thomas: I also have a netbook with the GMA 3150, but have not been able to get the Sherry 1.3 installer to run. I get the “This driver does not support your current system” error. The net book is running Windows 7 32 bit, it is the Asus 1015PX-su17.
      Would you or anyone else here have an idea as to what is causing this?

      ANY help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!

  6. Power_MAN says:

    its very great and ilook forward sherry 1.3.2 for 945gse

  7. Really looking forward to Sherry 1.3.2 for 64bit 😀

  8. 0x377a says:

    How long before x3100 is released for Win 64bit? I’m checking every day… 😦

  9. Alkenshin says:

    Hello !
    Thanks for the good work.
    Unfortunatelly, i was unable to install the 1.3.1 package: the system can no be validated.

    I’m running Windows 7 Starter 32bits SP1 on my Eee PC 1015PE.

    • sobczac says:

      I have the same problem on gma950 on win seven sratrer 32bit.
      Maybe i can help you.
      Steps: go start / control panel / devices / device menager – and now unistal oryginal drivers and instal basic VGA drvers (without restart win!) when you will see instaled VGA basic drivers with yellow alert icon, now without restarting install sherry drivers. Repeat this x times untill will you see results.

    • AngelicTears says:

      I thought that it was already fixed in 1.3.1. This maybe a obvious question, but can you double checked whether your setup is 32bit or 64bit. You can force the installation via device manager on the control panel. Select the inf from the installation folder.

  10. dale says:

    Hmm… April/2012 and sherry 1.3.2 aren’t released…

    • AngelicTears says:

      I am constantly fixing several issues on the release. Do note that 1.3.2 isn’t a major update, it is just small update by improving performance on several games and fixing bugs mainly in netbooks and GME chipsets users.

  11. sobczac says:

    Hi! i have a question about sherry 1.3 on gma 950. So… Can i play manhunt 2 on gma950 with this drivers?

  12. crimeinal says:

    Waiting patiently for 64 bit support…

  13. Albert H. says:

    Hi Sherry. Was using your drivers for 3150 for a while, and I recently had to revert as I discovered that they may be causing me trouble with games made with the Dark Engine (System Shock 2, Thief 1, Thief Gold and Thief 2).

    I can only say that the error messages looked a little like this:

    Still, I loved your drivers so far, otherwise, and hope later updates will be flawless.

    Albert H.

    • AngelicTears says:

      Thanks for the feedback 😀
      Have you tested the game with compatibility mode? either XP or 2000 should do the trick as it seems like it’s a memory management error, though if that doesn’t work, I’ll look into the problem. Thanks 🙂

  14. yash says:

    Hi please one version for XP SP3. 1.3.2 : Embedded version of the 945 family (GME and GSE

  15. Power_MAN says:

    Hi!
    When we can see sherry 1.3 for 945gse?
    I have acer aod250-0bk
    your driver coooooool!
    one man from Russia can run sherry 1.3 on 945gme, but I hve 945gse ((((
    there are link: http://netbookgame.ru/forum/topic_1092

Leave a Reply

